As you can see by my latest tweet, now available in the right hand column of this blog, I am considering a social media broadcast of my labor. There are two primary reasons for this: 1) I like the idea of capturing the play by play as it happens because it will help me remember how things actually went down when it’s time to compose Crosby’s birth story and 2) I like the idea of sharing said play by play with my loved ones because I know I’d be interested in reading the deets of my friend or family member’s labor. I’ve hemmed and hawed over using Twitter to accomplish this because many of my followers likely have zero interest in knowing when my contractions reach 2 minutes apart, but those folks can simply ignore me, and besides, I can assure you that I’m not going to tweet anything gross  like “there goes the mucus plug!” or “are you ready for some afterbirth?” More like “heading to the hospital” and “moved from triage to the labor and delivery room” but of course with some flair. And because I know that most of my friends and family are not on Twitter, I’ve added that lovely feed to the sidebar so all my blog readers can get the updates too. All of that said, who knows what this labor will be like and if I’ll even want to fuss with my iPhone. So for now I’ll just say that I’m considering it and we’ll see what happens.

Alright. That’s it for this short post. I’m off to make an ice-cream cone.

Leave a Reply

