T-minus one hour and forty-five minutes left of 2011 here on the east coast. I am totally jazzed about starting a new year. Not because I didn’t thoroughly enjoy this past year – in fact, in was pretty damn gold across the board – but I love, love, love new beginnings and change and any reason to say let’s try something different or do something better or live somehow more awesomely. Of course you don’t need to wait for a new year to do any of that, but being that it’s the quintessential fresh start, why not take the opportunity to jot down a few notes about what you’d like your life to look like in the new year? Even if it looks much the same as your current life, I wouldn’t believe anyone that says there isn’t at least one thing they’d like to change or improve. In the traditional sense, resolutions tend to be a bit too resolute for my taste. It’s a rare breed of person that can tell themselves with absolute certainty that they will or will not do this certain thing always or never again, and stick to that. Moderation is key, gradual progress is  the way to go, and so I much prefer to set goals and guidelines. even just ideas or suggestions. Example, instead of saying “for 2012, I will exercise 5 days a week” you might say “next year, i would like very much to maintain an active lifestyle.” The latter is much less intimidating and you’re far more likely to keep the dream alve without that numeric requirement waiving potential failure in your face.

So tomorrow I will do just that. Sit down with my lappy and write a post on this here blog about my hopes for 2012. Why not do it tonight? Because I’m pregnant and sober, and neither of those things lends well to staying up late. Plus hubs and my dad (he’s visiting, yay!) are watching Dickie Roberts in the other room and I can hear it and even though I can’t see it right now, I’ve sadly seen it enough times that I can actually picture what’s going on in every scene and it’s cracking me up and kind of distracting. SO! Tomorrow it is. Maybe I’ll even get Pete in on it a little since, you know, I plan on him being a big part of my 2012.

Wishing you all the happiest of new years! I hope your celebrations are smashing, but not so much so that you spend your first day of 2012 laid up in bed with gut rot and a pounding skull. Smooches!

Elderland out. XO.

Leave a Reply

