orlando and then some

The second stop of our Memorial Day road trip (yes, in May, that Memorial Day. yes, I am still writing about stuff from more than a month ago) was Orlando, FL, home of the lovely Caseys – my cousin Dana and her hubs Denny. Dana and I, just two months apart, grew up together and have always been more like sisters than cousins (I think that may have been part of my toast at her wedding, but the 5-6 glasses of champagne I slammed before hand in an attempt to make an otherwise terrifying moment somewhat calm have left that moment a leeeeeeetle fuzzy). Since parting post high school (I to Gainesville and eventually NC, and she to Orlando) we’ve done our best to visit frequently but of course with age comes more responsibility (for most of us) and with increased responsibility comes decreased ability to just jet off willy nilly to visit peeps in other lands. But the past year or so has seen much improvement in the cousinly visit rate. Dana came to see baby Norah last year when she was just an itty bitty little thing and pissed off as all get out (it seems we may have been starving her, oops), and then we went down to O-town in November for the Casey nuptials. And then we decided to take this road trip just 6 months after the wedding, AND THEN (no more and then!) guess what I found out while we were there?? The Double D might be moving to DC! That’s less than five hours away, people. Fact. Google map it.

In fact, I think she might be headed there as I type this very post! This is incredibly exciting. Not only am I so happy for Dana and her awesome new position with Lockheed and her exciting move to the big city, but I’m happy for us being a stone’s throw (with a strong arm) away. I haven’t been to DC since I was a kid, possibly not since the 5th grade safety patrol trip, and am super jazzed about heading up there to experience the city as an adult and now have much more of a reason to make that trip. Certainly they’ll have plenty of room for us in their one bedroom apartment (yay city life!), but really. We’ll make it work. Awesome sauce all around.

So, while we were in Orlando in May we had a kick ass time simply hanging out. We were so glad that D&D were on board with just chillin’ and didn’t feel the need to over-entertain us with activities. I mean, we did stuff, but not exhausting, over stimulating, away from the house all day, need a vacation from your vacation stuff. They made us dinner, we played four-player-simultaneous-Mario on the Wii (whoa!), we watched Family Guy Star Wars and we went out for latintastic Cuban food. We drank moderately and talked and did a P90X video (ouch) and watched Norah be her cute little self (not necessarily in that order). It was like a normal weekend at home, but not at home, and with two other awesome people. We loved it.

Only one teeny tiny little part of the visit was unpleasant and that was when Norah did a swan dive off their couch forehead first into their coffee table. I heard the boom from behind the closed door of our room where I was getting dressed and bolted to the living room like a bat out of hell to find a screaming baby with a quarter sized nodule jutting from the center of her forehead. She looked like something out of a sci-fi movie and it broke my heart. Pete and I both were clearly feeling worse than she was. We just couldn’t stand it for our little girl to be hurt and of course were in crazy, paranoid, first time parents mode wondering if she had a concussion or worse and needed to go to the hospital. Thankfully, D&D went to the store for us to get some tylenol and called Denny’s mom, a nurse, on the way. Norah was fine, mom and dad were (eventually) fine, and we got through our first big baby boo boo.

Bad me didn’t take any pictures while we were there, but Dana popped out her camera for a few last minute snappies before we hit the road. This one was my absolute favorite (even though I have that just woke up slash been hitting the pipe look in my eyes) mostly because it’s hilarious.

Elderland out. XO.

One thought on “orlando and then some

Leave a Reply

