mother’s day 1.0

I’ve officially been a mother now for two days shy of 10 months and I can wholeheartedly say that this job is a keeper. Laugh not, for thoughts of quitting motherhood are no joke as anyone who has experienced newborndom would agree, and I’m sure there will be ample other instances in life when I just want to throw in the towel because I’ve had it up to here (insert visual of hand at forehead) with something or other. If you’ve read an iota of this blog or spent a mere hour with me post birthing you are certainly aware that I am NOT a fan of newborns, or at the very least was not a fan of my newborn experience with Norah. I have confidence it will be marginally less awful with number two (and dare I say three?) for at least I’ll have some inkling of what the hell I’m supposed to do and much less anxiety and panic over every little thing that seems weird (let’s be serious, what isn’t weird when it comes to newborns?). But still. Even if number two offers a slightly diluted misery in the first few months of life, I will still look forward with gleeful anticipation to the real baby stage that we’ve been enjoying with Norah for the past several months. And by “real” baby I mean one doesn’t spend its waking hours crying if there’s not a boob in its mouth, one that smiles and giggles and acknowledges your existence, one that does anything, ANYTHING more exciting than just lying there like a blob. That’s my kind of baby.

I love, love, love being a mom. Norah is freakin’ awesome and amazing. Pete and I are so insanely and ridiculously in love with this little girl, it’s so all consuming, that sometimes it takes my breath away and regularly elicits the ol’ water works. In fact, mom stuff in general, even a friend’s kid’s recital vid on Facebook, can make me tear up at the drop of a hat. Motherhood is the shit. I couldn’t be happier. And man oh man do I love my little family.

So of course today was my very first Mother’s Day. Yay! I kicked it off with a lovely little breakfast with mom and grams at our local diner. Then I used my Mother’s Day privileges to put Pete on daddy duty so I could spend some time photographing stuff for my Etsy shop (more on that in the next post, which I swear will come before next year). Later there was some super fun play time with Norah, a late afternoon walk (our weather is phenomenal right now) and then Pete made us the most delicious dinner and a chocolate cake. Happy and lucky mama, right here.

I hope all of you fabulous and amazing moms had the happiest of Mother’s Days!

Leave a Reply

