it’s aliiiiiiiive!

Remember Norah’s tree? Of course you do. Well guess what? We didn’t kill it!

The day I noticed tiny little buds on Norah’s tree and realized that it had made it through the winter was almost as exciting as the day I was able to button my normal-nonfat-nonmaternity jeans without experiencing sharp pain where the waistband was digging into my love-handles. It’s the little things.

I really and truly wasn’t sure this little sapling was going to survive the snowy winter. The first sign of distress occurred shortly after Norah was born. Last summer was sickly hot and humid and we were maybe a little less than diligent about watering the tree because we were maybe a little busy with our newborn. The leaves yellowed and browned and I thought for sure this tree was toast. But I didn’t give up! I took charge and rose to action. I made sure those fragile baby branches and tender little leaves received a healthy drink every day. And man was it hot out there! I could tell because Pete was always sweating when he came inside. Teehee. But then Autumn came and the leaves fell off, and they did so much sooner than those of any of the surrounding trees, and rather than rationally conclude that this was because Norah’s tree had maybe 20 leaves to the thousands on the old oaks around it, I immediately panicked and put on my Polly Pessimism hat. Me: “Pete, Norah’s tree isn’t going to make it!” Pete: “What? Shut up. You’re acting crazy.” Hmm. That’s possible.

I’m not sure why I was so paranoid about killing this tree. I’ve killed a plant or two or ten before and aside from a brief moment of irritation over the wasted money and impending task of cleaning out the pot, I was generally unscathed and quicky moved on. But as explained in the original tree post, losing this tree would be outright depressing. Because it’s Norah’s. And everything for/of/about/regarding Norah should be awesome and amazing and perfect. Because I said so (ohhh, that’s so mom of me).

So here she is (yes, I’ve decided the tree is a she. just now). Alive and flowery. So excited to watch this tree grow with our baby girl!

Thanks to Grandma Deb for taking photos :).

Leave a Reply

