quick paperless follow up…

On Sunday I went to Wal-Mart to pick up a few things for the week and upon receiving my receipt from the cashier became rather flabbergasted and flummoxed. At first, I thought the receipt machine cut off part of my order. No bigs. But then I noticed at the very bottom a note that said “Continued on back…” Say whaaaaa? Yes. Wal-Mart printed my receipt on two sides, thereby reducing the paper output. Still skeptical and thinking this might be some sort of anomoly I googled it and found this article. Of course the headline touts the cash savings rather than the benefit to our environment of paper waste reduction, and maybe when you take into account the manufacturing of the new printers required to accomplish this, the net impact is not all that. But still. It intrigues me.

Leave a Reply

